Palace of Westminster

The Palace of Westminster is the official name for what is often referred to as the Houses of Parliament. This is the official home of the British Government and the 2 main chambers are the House of Commons, where the Members of Parliament sit and the House of Lords where the peers sit. However, the scale of the building can be seen in the fact that the Palace has over 1000 rooms and 100 staircases.

The current building is around 150 years old and was built after the previous palace was destroyed by fire. it was designed by the architect Sir Charles Barry, although he did not design the clock tower Big Ben

There is some limited visitor access to the Palace of Westminster during the Houses of Parliament summer recess.

Click here for the official website

Palace of Westminster


Official Website